Faculty

Shifra Armon
Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese Studies
sarmon@ufl.edu
Early modern Spanish literature and culture studies

Richard Burt
Professor, English
burt@ufl.edu
Shakespeare; modern film and mass media

William C. Calin
Graduate Research Professor
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
wcalin@ufl.edu 
Medieval Literature, French Poetry, Occitan (Provençal), Anglo-Norman, and modern Breton literature, Franco-British Literary Relations

Nina Caputo
Assistant Professor
History
ncaputo@ufl.edu
Medieval Jewish History, Medieval History

Cynthia Chennault
Associate Professor
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
cchenna@ufl.edu
Editor, Early Medieval China
Medieval Chinese poetry and culture

Florin Curta
Associate Professor
History
fcurta@ufl.edu 
Late Antiquity, Medieval Eastern Europe, Medieval Archaeology, Byzantium

Bonnie Effros
Professor
History
Rothman Chair and Director of the Center for the Humanities and the Public Sphere
beffros@ufl.edu
Merovingian society; early medieval ritual practices and communities.

Franz Futtterknecht
Professor
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
franzo@ufl.edu
German literature; philosophy; Renaissance philosophy

Jules D. Gliesche
Lecturer
Academic Spoken English
drjdg@ufl.edu
Germanic linguistics

Will Hasty 
Professor
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
hasty@ufl.edu
Co-Director, MEMS
Medieval German literature; Arthurian studies

Robert A. Hatch
Associate Professor Emeritus, History
ufhatch@ufl.edu 
History & Philosophy of Science; Early Modern Europe; Scientific Organization; Astronomy; Cosmology

Yumiko Hulvey
Associate Professor
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
yhuvley@ufl.edu
Classical and Medieval Japanese Literature; Women’s Studies.

Guolong Lai
Assistant Professor
Art and Art History
gllai@ufl.edu
Early Chinese tombs

Howard Louthan
Professor, History
louthan@ufl.edu 
Early Modern Europe; Renaissance, Reformation

Stephen A. McKnight
Professor, History
smcknigh@ufl.edu
Renaissance European history; History of Science

Marie Nelson
Professor, English & Linguistics (semi-ret.)
mnelson@lin.ufl.edu 
Old and Middle English Literature; Women’s Studies

Mario Poceski
Associate Professor, Religion
mpoceski@ufl.edu
Buddhist Studies, Chinese Religion

Jennifer A. Rea
Associate Professor, Classics
jrea@ufl.edu 
Latin literature, Roman material culture, ancient historiography

Elizabeth Ross
Assistant Professor
School of Art and Art History
elizross@ufl.edu
15th and 16th-century art in Northern Europe and Italy, early modern printmaking and printing, history of travel and cartography

Peter Rudnytsky
Professor, English
plr@ufl.edu
Editor, American Imago
Freud, history and theory of psychoanalysis; Shakespeare, early modern literature

Gareth L. Schmeling
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Classics
schmelin@ufl.edu
Petronius, Apuleius, Historia Apollonii, Chariton, Xenophon; ancient novel; textual criticism

Richard Allen Shoaf
Professor, English
ras@ufl.edu
Chaucer, Dante, Milton, Shakespeare; Middle English poetry; critical theory

Judy Shoaf
Language Learning Center
jshoaf@ufl.edu
Old French literature; Old Norse literature, Arthurian legend and literature

C. John Sommerville 
Professor Emeritus, History
jsommerv@ufl.edu
History of religions in England and America

Andrea Sterk
Associate Professor, History
sterk@ufl.edu 
Ancient and Medieval Christianity, Late Antiquity, Byzantium

Jennifer S. Thomas
Assistant Professor, School of Music
thomasjs@ufl.edu
Renaissance motets; Renaissance repertory formation; Josquin Desprez

Sarra Tlili
Assistant Professor, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
satlili@ufl.edu
Arabic Language and Literature; Qur’an studies, Animals in Islam, Arabic literature and civilization; Sustainability.

Robert Wagman
Associate Professor, Classics
rsw@ufl.edu
Greek religion, epigraphy and palaeography, poetry

Richard G. Wang
Associate Professor of Chinese Studies, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Affiliate Associate Professor, Department of Religion
rwang1@ufl.edu
Early modern Chinese fiction; Taoist studies; religion and Chinese literature

John Ward
Professor Emeritus, College of Fine Arts
johnward@ufl.edu
Flemish painting, pictorial space depiction and perception

Mary Watt
Associate Professor & Chair, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
marywatt@ufl.edu
Co-Director, MEMS.
Dante; cross-temporary overlap of culture, iconography and semiotics in medieval and modern literature